Candidates Asia Fruman

I’m 35 years old
and originally from Ukraine.
I’m in Germany for 8 months
and live in Hamburg.

Desired job

I’m looking for a permanent position or a minijob in the area of Translation and interpreting (Translator), Text and editing (Manuscript transcriber), Text and editing (Editor), Libraries (Consultant) or Music (Performer).

About me

I am a translator, editor, Yiddishist and manuscript transcriber from Kharkiv, Ukraine, now based in Hamburg.
I am looking for a permanent — non-freelance — job here in Hamburg (or elsewhere in Germany, if it's possible to do it remotely from Hamburg, but still as a permanent job) starting from January or February 2023.
Here is what I am good at:
1) Translating
from: Russian, Ukrainian, Belarusian, English, Polish, French, Yiddish, some German, a bit of Greek
into: English, Russian, Ukrainian, Yiddish.
I am in the midst of studying German, but I can't translate texts into German just yet.
My fields are: history, culture, Jewish studies, anthropology, ethnography, literature, theology, music.

2) Deciphering manuscripts (languages: Yiddish, Polish, Russian, Ukrainian. I've worked on a great deal of Yiddish and Polish letters and postcards, as well as other documents.)

3) Transcribing and subtitling audio interviews (and movies, too).

4) Literary editing.

I love languages; I am a quick learner. I came to Hamburg as a war refugee, and now I'm trying to build a new life and find a new job.

Previous experiences

  • 8 months

    Yiddish teacher

    10/2020 - 06/2021
    Kiew, Ukraine
    Kyiv-Mohyla Academy
  • 8 months

    Freelance Translator (Ukrainian > English)

    09/2019 - 05/2020
    Berlin, Deutschland
    Centre for Historical Research of the Polish Acade
  • 5 years
    1 month

    Freelance Literary Editor (Belarusian, Yiddish)

    10/2017 - 12/2022
    Prag, Tschechien
    Vesna Books Publishing House
  • 3 years
    2 months

    Yiddish teacher

    10/2014 - 12/2017
    Lwiw, Ukraine
    Ukrainian Catholic University
  • 12 years
    5 months

    Freelance translator

    09/2009 - 02/2022
    Charkiw, Ukraine
    self-employed
  • 4 years
    8 months

    Studies: English and French philology

    09/2003 - 05/2008
    Charkiw, Ukraine
    Skovoroda Kharkiv National Pedagogical University
    Master of Arts
    Status: Completed successfully
By continuing to use this website, you consent to our cookie policy.